Big East

School-best 49 Freshmen Honored by Big 12

June 23, 2016

MORGANTOWN, W.Va. – A school-best 49 of West Virginia’s freshmen student-athletes were named to the 2016 Academic All-Big 12 Rookie Team, as announced by the league on Thursday.

Student-athletes who were new, incoming freshmen at their respective Big 12 institutions were eligible for selection.

Baylor led all schools with 56 honorees followed by Oklahoma’s 55 and TCU’s and Texas’ 52. A total of 445 student-athletes were acknowledged for the 2015-16 season.

The 49 Mountaineers selected were the most honored since 46 were chosen during the inaugural Big 12 All-Rookie Team selection in 2013. Five Mountaineers posted 4.0 grade-point-averages (GPA), including Marah Bieger (swimming and diving), Julia Calcut (swimming and diving), Abigail Rosiello (tennis), Bianca St. Georges (women’s soccer) and Madelyn Woods (swimming and diving).
St. Georges was joined by teammates Hannah Abraham, Laurel Carpenter, Patricia Fernandez, Vanessa Flores, Sh’Nia Gordon, Easther Mayi Kith and Amanda Saymon. The swimming and diving teams had 12 representatives in addition to Bieger, Calcut and Woods, as Georgia Baldus, Emmott Blitch, Emilie Chambers, Drew Damich, Fernando Duenas, Lexi Glassmire, Sam Hall, Emma Harris, Adam Poe, Jake Preaskorn, Mary Smith and Jake Williams also were selected.
In addition to Rosiello, tennis had a pair of student-athletes garner acknowledgement in Paula Geotz and Kirsten White. Danique Bryan, Jordan Hess and Chaqieta Robinson were named to the Academic All-Big 12 Rookie team from track and field, while Connor Flynn represented wrestling.

Nominated by each institution’s director of student-athlete support services, student-athletes on the Academic All-Big 12 Rookie Team must be new, first-time/incoming freshmen that have completed 24 semester hours of non-remedial coursework and achieved a cumulative GPA of at least 3.00.

Additionally, the student-athlete must have participated in at least one of their team’s scheduled contests and must have been a member of their respective team for their sport’s entire NCAA Championship segment. The Academic All-Big 12 Rookie Team was introduced in the 2012-13 academic year.

Read Full Article