NCAA Football

Olympic Trials Info and What to Watch on Day One

June 30, 2016

EUGENE, Ore. – For the third-straight Olympic cycle, Historic Hayward Field will host the U.S. Olympic Track and Field Trials. The nation’s and world’s best will converge on TrackTown USA including more than 40 current or former Oregon athletes.
Local fans will see a number of familiar faces as at least 14 student-athletes who competed for Oregon during the 2016 season will take part in the Trials, the most of any college.

Oregon Entrants

Men Women
Arthur Delaney 200 Meters English Gardner 100 Meters
Marcus Chambers 400 Meters Jasmine Todd 100 Meters
Mike Berry 400 Meters Jenna Prandini 100 Meters
Matthew Centrowitz 1,500 Meters Ariana Washington 100 Meters
Jordan McNamara 1,500 Meters Deajah Stevens 100 Meters
John Gregorek 1,500 Meters Mandy White 100 Meters
Daniel Winn 1,500 Meters Jenna Prandini 200 Meters
Sam Prakel 1,500 Meters Ariana Washington 200 Meters
Colby Alexander 1,500 Meters Deajah Stevens 200 Meters
Eric Jenkins 5,000 Meters Phyllis Francis 400 Meters
Eric Jenkins 10,000 Meters Raevyn Rogers 800 Meters
Galen Rupp 10,000 Meters Laura Roesler 800 Meters
Devon Allen 110 Hurdles Jordan Hasay 10,000 Meters
Jusin Frick High Jump Sasha Wallace 100 Hurdles
Greg Skipper Hammer Throw Alaysha Johnson 100 Hurdles
Cyrus Hostetler Javelin Brianna Nerud Steeplechase
Sam Crouser Javelin Megan Patrignelli Steeplechase
Cody Danielson Javelin Becky Holliday Pole Vault
Ashton Eaton Decathlon Melissa Gergel Pole Vault
Mitch Modin Decathlon Jasmine Todd Long Jump
Brittany Mann Shot Put
Britney Henry Hammer Throw

The top three finishers in each event will qualify to the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio De Janeiro as long as they have also secured an Olympic standard qualifying mark.
Television Schedule
The meet will be televised by the NBC family of networks, including the NBC Sports App.

Day   Time Network
Friday, July 1 4 – 6 p.m. NBC Digital
6 – 7 p.m. NBC
Saturday, July 2 9:45 – 11 a.m. NBC Digital
11 a.m. – 2 p.m. NBC
2 – 3:30 p.m. NBCSN
Sunday, July 3 10 a.m. – 4 p.m. NBC Digital
4:30 – 6 p.m. NBCSN
Monday, July 4 3:30 – 4 p.m. NBC Digital
4 – 6 p.m. NBCSN
Thursday, July 7 3:30 – 5 p.m. NBC Digital
5 – 8 p.m. NBCSN
Friday, July 8 3 – 5 p.m. NBCSN
5 – 6 p.m. NBC
Saturday, July 9 3:30 – 5 p.m. NBC Digital
5 – 6 p.m. NBC
Sunday, July 10 1:45 – 3 p.m. NBC Digital
4 – 5:30 p.m. NBC


Free Spectator Parking
For your convenience, free parking is available at Autzen Stadium (located off Martin Luther King Blvd.) and at South Eugene High School (located at 19th and Patterson St.) You can then ride the free shuttle – or walk, ride your bike (or even your skateboard) to Hayward Field. Shuttle service from both Park & Ride locations begins one hour prior to the opening of the Festival each day and operates every 15 minutes (and even more frequently during peak times) The last shuttles leave Hayward Field one hour following the closing of the Festival each evening.
What to Watch on Friday
The meet will officially kick off with the opening ceremony at 3:30 p.m., which will remember historic moments from previous Olympic Trials. Most of the day will be dedicated to qualifying rounds but the Olympic team members will be decided in the men’s shot put and men’s 10,000 meter finals.
Friday Schedule (Oregon entrants)
11 a.m. – Men’s shot put qualifying
3:30 p.m. – Opening Ceremony
4 p.m. – Women’s discus qualifying
4:15 p.m. – Men’s 800 meters first round
4:15 p.m. – Women’s high jump qualifying
4:45 p.m. – Women’s 800 meters qualifying (Laura Roesler, Raevyn Rogers)
5:10 p.m. – Women’s long jump qualifying (Jasmine Todd)
5:15 p.m. – Men’s 400 meters first round (Marcus Chambers, Mike Berry)
5:40 p.m. – Men’s shot put final
5:45 p.m. – Women’s 400 meters first round (Phyllis Francis)
6:15 p.m. – Men’s 10,000 meters final (Galen Rupp, Eric Jenkins)
Rupp the Record Setter: Galen Rupp will be aiming for his eighth straight U.S. Championship in the men’s 10,000 meter. He would become the first American to ever win eight straight national championships in any event. The feat has only been accomplished twice before in when George Gray (CAN) won eight straight shot put titles from 1987-94 and James Mitchell won eight straight hammer throw crowns from 1989-96, four of which came as a citizen of Ireland.
800 Meter Duo: Oregon has won three straight NCAA Outdoor 800-meter titles thanks to Laura Roesler (2014) and Raevyn Rogers (2015, 2016). Each is figured to be in the mix for their first Olympic berth. Roesler is ranked fourth in Track and Field News’ form chart while Rogers is seventh. It will be The 800-meter field is a deep one for the U.S. with World medalists Ajee Wilson, Brenda Martinez, Chanelle Price and Alysia Montano all in the field.

Read Full Article