NCAA Football

T&F: 2016 Team Award Winners

May 22, 2016

EUGENE, Ore. – Between celebrating another year as Pac-12 Champions and continuing on to the NCAA Preliminary Rounds in Lawrence, Kan., the Oregon track and field team held its annual banquet on Sunday, May 22, awarding yearly honors for performance, leadership and dedication.

Edward Cheserek and Devon Allen split the honors of the George Scharpf Outstanding Athlete Award, presented in recognition of outstanding athletic achievement by a male athlete. Cheserek completed a historic triple at the NCAA Indoor Championships, winning the 3,000, 5,000 and anchoring the distance medley relay team to bring his NCAA Championship tally to 13. After winning Oregon’s first NCAA title in the 60 hurdles indoors, Allen was recently named the Pac-12 Men’s Track Athlete of the Year. The redshirt sophomore scored 27.5 points at the conference meet and set an NCAA-best of 13.32 in the 110 hurdles on his way to being named the Men’s Athlete of the Meet.

Raevyn Rogers took home the Lynne Winbigler Women’s Performer of the Year Award. Rogers set a school record at 800 meters during the indoor season, running the second-fastest time in NCAA history (2:00.90).  The Houston native finished the indoor season with an NCAA Championship in the 800 and successfully defended her 800-meter Pac-12 title last week.

The Harry Ritchie Jeweler’s Award for great contribution to the University of Oregon track and field program went to Greg Skipper, who is coming off a win of the Pac-12 hammer throw. During the indoor season, Skipper qualified to his second-straight NCAA Championships where he finished fourth in the weight throw.

For their great contribution to the program, Brittany Mann and Sasha Wallace were given the Mary Officer Award. Both were Pac-12 Champions last seek in Seattle, Mann winning the shot put for the second-consecutive year and Wallace winning a thrilling 100 hurdles final. Wallace also recorded her best finish at the NCAA Indoor Championships this season, taking second in the 60 hurdles and setting a school record of 7.91.

Molly Grabill was the recipient of the Harry Ritchie’s Inspirational Award, rebounding from tragedy to qualify for the 5,000 at the NCAA Indoor Championships and run the fifth-fastest 10,000 time in school history this season (33:13.64).

For their inspirational performances on the men’s side, Marcus Chambers, Mitch Modin and Sam Prakel received the Dow Wilson Inspirational Award.

With a flood of new talent coming into the program this season, five individuals earned the Perry Holloman Newcomer of the Year Award. Pac-12 Women’s Track Athlete of the Year, Hannah Cunliffe, was given the honor along with Deajah Stevens, who scored 16.5 points at the Pac-12 Championships after finishing fourth in the NCAA Indoors 200, and Alaysha Johnson, who finished eighth in the 60 hurdles at the NCAA Indoor Championships and is No. 2 on the Oregon 60 hurdles and 100 hurdles lists. Cody Danielson and Matthew Maton were the men’s honored newcomers. Danielson won a dramatic Pac-12 javelin competition while Maton finished second in the 1,500, running the fifth-fastest time in the NCAA this season.

The Tom Heinonen Women’s Cross Country Award winner was Alli Cash, who finished sixth at the Pac-12 Cross Country Championships and earned her first cross country All-American honor. Cheserek was given the Bill Dellinger Cross Country Award after winning his third Pac-12 and NCAA titles.

Cited for the Coaches Award, given to recognize athletic achievement, dedication and determination, were Itohan Aikhionbare, Blake Haney, Annie Leblanc, Jasmine Todd and Ariana Washington.

Also on Sunday, the University of Oregon Track and Field Hall of Fame Award was presented to Hayward Field caretaker Karessa Barnett, who has helped maintain the beauty of the historic venue for the past 25 years.

Read Full Article