Off to Royal Troon: Open Qualifying Series

June 13, 2016

Featured Image

L to R: Anthony Wall, Haydn Porteous and Zander Lomard qualify for the 2016 Open Championship at the Joburg Open. (Getty)

Players from around the world can secure a spot at Royal Troon through the Open Qualifying Series.

The Series consists of 10 combined tournaments on the European Tour, PGA Tour, PGA Tour of Australasia, Asian Tour, Japan Golf Tour and Sunshine Tour, as well as four Final Qualifying events.

Sites offer one, three or four spots into the Open Championship, breaking down like this:

Each of the four Final Qualifying sites offer three spots.

Here’s a look at the participating tournaments and those who have qualified, thus far (click here for photo gallery):

Emirates Australian Open Nick Cullen, Matt Jones, Rod Pampling
Thailand Golf Championship Jamie Donaldson, Phachara Khongwatmai, Clement Sordet, Lee Westwood
Joburg Open Zander Lombard, Haydn Porteous, Anthony Wall
Mizuno Open Hideto Tanihara, Syugo Imahira, Kodai Ichihara, Sang-Hee Lee
Nordea Masters Lasse Jensen
FedEx St. Jude Classic Brian Gay, Steve Stricker, Russell Henley, Seung-Yul Noh
Quicken Loans National June 23-26 (4 spots, inside top 12 and ties)
Final Qualifying: Gailes Links June 28 (3 spots)
Final Qualifying: Hillside Golf Club June 28 (3 spots)
Final Qualifying: Royal Cinque Ports June 28 (3 spots)
Final Qualifying: Woburn June 28 (3 spots)
Open de France June 30-July 3 (4 spots, inside top 12 and ties)
The Greenbrier Classic July 7-10 (1 spot, inside top 5 and ties)
Aberdeen Asset Management Scottish Open July 7-10 (4 spots, inside top 12 and ties)

Read Original Article Here