Men's Tennis Earns LSWA Honors

June 8, 2016

BATON ROUGE, La. – LSU men’s tennis juniors Justin Butsch and Jordan Daigle along with senior Boris Arias and sophomore transfer Gabor Csonka earned honors in the annual Louisiana Sports Writer’s Association All-Louisiana men’s teams.

Justin Butsch was named to the first team after compiling a team-high 25 wins and earning 26 doubles wins with partners Tam Trinh, Simon Freund and Nikola Samardzic. The Miami native was also named to the All-SEC Second team after competing on courts one, two and three, finishing the season ranked 78th in the nation.

Boris Arias and Jordan Daigle, the No. 13 doubles pair in the nation, earned second team honors. In their two seasons as a pair, the two-time All-American duo notched 30 career wins with three victories against the No. 1 team in the nation. They also tallied seven wins against top-20 opponents.

Sophomore Gabor Csonka finished his first season in Baton Rouge with a 23-11 overall record, which included one win over a ranked opponent to place him on the second team.

This season, the LSU men’s tennis team finished with a record of 15-12 and reached the second round of the NCAA Tournament for the second consecutive season.

For up-to-date information and behind-the-scenes access on the Tigers, fans can follow the LSU men’s tennis team on Twitter and Instagram at @lsutennis and on Facebook at

LSWA All-Louisiana Men’s Tennis
First Team
Justin Butsch, LSU
Dominik Koepfer, Tulane
Chi-Shan Jo, Tulane
Edgar Lopez, UL-Lafayette
Karan Salwan, Xavier
Constatin Schmitz, Tulane

Player of the Year
Dominik Koepfer, Tulane

Freshman of the Year
Arthur Libaud, UL-Lafayette

Newcomer of the Year
Karan Salwan, Xavier

Coach of the Year
Mark Booras, Tulane

Second Team All-Louisiana Men’s Tennis
Boris Arias, LSU
Gabor Csonka, LSU
Jordan Daigle, LSU
Arthur Libaud, UL-Lafayette
Sebastian Rey, Tulane
Thomas Setodji, Xavier

Honorable Mention
Kyle Montrel, Xavier

Read Full Article