Mainieri No. 5 Among Winningest Active Coaches

June 2, 2016

BATON ROUGE, La. — LSU coach Paul Mainieri has moved into the Top 5 among NCAA Division I Baseball Winningest Active Coaches. With the announced retirements this week of Texas coach Augie Garrido and Lamar coach Jim Gilligan, Mainieri is now No. 5 on the active list of all-time winningest coaches.

Mainieri is in his 34th season as a college coach with six seasons at St. Thomas University (1993-88), six seasons at Air Force (1989-94), 12 seasons at Notre Dame (1995-2006) and 10 seasons at LSU (2007-present).

Here are the Top 5 NCAA Division I Baseball Winningest Active Coaches:

1.       Mike Martin, Florida State (36 seasons): Overall Record:  1,894-669-4

2.       Mark Marquess, Stanford (40 seasons): Overall Record:  1,585-862-7

3.       Jim Morris, Miami (34 seasons): Overall Record:  1,523-660-4

4.       Mike Fox, North Carolina (33 seasons): Overall Record:  1,336-487-5

5.       Paul Mainieri, LSU (34 seasons):  1,321-671-8

Mainieri, Marquess and Morris are the only three active coaches to record at least 1,300 career wins and lead a team to the national championship.

In addition, there are only seven coaches in the all-time history of NCAA Division I baseball to have won at least 1,300 career games and a national championship:

1.       Augie Garrido, Cal State Fullerton/Texas

2.       Gene Stephenson, Wichita State

3.       Mark Marquess, Stanford

4.       Jim Morris, Miami

5.       Cliff Gustafson, Texas

6.       Rod Dedeaux, Southern California

7.       Paul Mainieri, LSU

Mainieri, who has a 457-179-3 record in his 10th season at LSU, was inducted in January 2014 into the American Baseball Coaches Association Hall of Fame, and he earned National Coach of the Year recognition in 2008, 2009 and 2015. Mainieri directed LSU to the 2009 College World Series title, and he also led the Tigers to CWS appearances in 2008, 2013 and 2015.

Under Mainieri, the Tigers have won five SEC Tournament titles (2008, 2009, 2010, 2013, 2014), five SEC Western Division titles (2008, 2009, 2012, 2013, 2015) and the 2009, 2012 and 2015 SEC regular-season championships.

This season, Mainieri directed LSU to its fifth straight NCAA Tournament National Seed, as LSU became only the second team in NCAA history to earn five consecutive National Seeds. Stanford captured six in a row from 1999-2004.

LSU and Florida are also the only schools in the country to earn seven National Seeds in the past nine seasons.

Mainieri and the Tigers open 2016 NCAA Tournament play at 2 p.m. CT Friday when the Tigers face Utah Valley in Game 1 of the Baton Rouge Regional in Alex Box Stadium, Skip Bertman Field.

Read Full Article