Mississippi State

Jamaal Clayborn Named To Rimington Trophy Spring Watch List

May 17, 2016

STARKVILLE, Miss. – Mississippi State senior center Jamaal Clayborn has been named to the 2016 spring watch list for the Rimington Trophy, which is presented annually to the most outstanding center in college football, it was announced Tuesday.

Clayborn was one of eight Southeastern Conference centers named to the list as the Jackson, Mississippi, native is coming off a 2015 season in which he played a team-high 848 snaps during the regular season. He moved into a starting role as a junior. Clayborn is the first Bulldog named to the list since Dillon Day in 2013.

Since its inception, the Rimington Trophy has raised over $2.6 million for the cystic fibrosis community. The award is overseen by the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis and has raised over $120 million for the fight against cystic fibrosis.

Dave Rimington, the award’s namesake, was a consensus first-team All-America center at the University of Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the John Outland Trophy’s only double winner as the nation’s finest college interior lineman.

For more information on the MSU football program, follow “HailStateFB” on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram. You can also find all-access coverage of the Bulldogs on SnapChat by searching for “HailStateSnap.”

Read Full Article