NCAA Football

Ducks Set for NCAA Championships

June 6, 2016

This Week: The Oregon men and women’s track and field teams will defend their national titles at the NCAA Championships, June 8-11 at Historic Hayward Field in Eugene, Ore.

For the second year under the new format, the meet will be split into men’s and women’s competition days. The men will compete on Wednesday and Friday while the women will compete on Thursday and Saturday. The men’s decathlon will be contested Wednesday-Thursday with the women’s heptathlon Friday-Saturday.

Links to purchase tickets, a full event schedule and spectator information can be found at

The meet will be broadcast live on the ESPN family of networks. Wednesday’s action will air on ESPN2 from 4:30 – 8 p.m. PT on ESPN2. The first hour of Thursday’s competition can be seen on ESPNU from 4:30 -5:30 p.m. PT before switching to ESPN from 5:30 – 8 p.m. Friday and Saturday will be broadcast on ESPN from 5:30 -8 p.m. on Friday and 3:30-6 p.m. on Saturday.

Live results
for the meet will also be available.

Oregon Entries:
Oregon will have a total of 32 entries into the meet. The men will be represented by 17 entries from 16 individuals in 12 events. The women have 15 entries from 13 individuals in nine events.
Youth Movement: Of the 29 individuals who make up the Oregon NCAA Championships roster, only three are in their final year of eligibility.

The men’s team skews especially young with three freshmen, seven sophomores, five juniors and one senior competing. The women’s team is more balanced with three freshman, four sophomores, four juniors and two seniors.
Rankings: Heading into the NCAA Championships, the Oregon men moved up one spot to No. 3 in the USTFCCCA Rankings. The women’s team fell three spots to No. 6.
Oregon NCAA Championships History: The Oregon men won their seventh NCAA Outdoor Championship in program history in 2015, marking back-to-back titles after winning their first in 30 years in 2014. The Ducks have never won three-straight NCAA Outdoor Championships.

The Oregon women won their second NCAA Outdoor Championship in 2015, their first coming in 1985. The Ducks have finished in the top three, each of the last seven seasons with four-straight second-place finishes from 2009-12 and two third-place finishes in 2013-14.
Active Points Leader: With two years under his belt, Edward Cheserek is the active leader in career points scored at the NCAA Outdoor Championships with 38. The next closest active athlete is Georgia senior Maicel Uibo who has 24 points.
13 Titles and Counting: Edward Cheserek already has the most NCAA Championships in Oregon history, with 13, 11 of which are individual titles. The junior is now 13-for-15 in NCAA Championships, finishing second to Lawi Lalang in the 2014 outdoor 5,000 and behind teammate Eric Jenkins in the 2015 indoor 3,000.

The NCAA record for most individual titles is held by Suleiman Nyambui of UTEP (15). Cheserek surpassed Gerry Lindgren of Washington State (11) and Erick Walder of Arkansas (10) during the indoor season.
National Leaders: Devon Allen enters NCAA competition as the leader in the 110 hurdles with a best of 13.32 this season which he set at the Pac-12 Championships. Hannah Cunliffe owns the best wind-legal time of the season in the women’s 100, running 10.99 at the Mt. SAC Relays.
TrackTown USA:  TrackTown USA and the University of Oregon are in the midst of an eight-year stretch of hosting the Outdoor Track and Field Championships running to 2021. Eugene has hosted the NCAA Championships a total of 13 times, tied with Chicago for the most of any city.
Pac-12 Championships History: The Oregon men’s team has now won the last 10 Pac-12 Championship team titles while the women have won eight in-a-row.
The men’s streak is the longest in Pac-12 history, topping the eight-year streak by USC from 1948-1955 as part of the Pacific Coast Conference and again in 1957-1963 during the transition from the PCC to the Pac-8. The Women of Oregon are now tied for the longest streak in conference history with UCLA from 1997-2004.
The men’s Pac-12 team championship marked the 17th in program history, tying UCLA for the most in conference history.
Pac-12 Awards: Oregon track and field was honored with a five end-of-season awards by the Pac-12, as four athletes were recognized for their accomplishments and head coach Robert Johnson was named the Women’s Coach of the Year.

Devon Allen and Hannah Cunliffe swept Pac-12 Track Athlete of the Year honors. Allen is the nation’s leader in the 110 hurdles and was the high-point scorer at the conference championships (27.5 points), winning the 110 hurdles and 200. Cunliffe has NCAA top-five marks in both 100 and 200 while also leading the nation as a member of Oregon’s 4×100 team. The sophomore transfer scored 22.5 points at the Pac-12 Championships, the most among women’s competitors.

The Ducks also swept Freshman of the Year honors with Matthew Maton winning on the men’s side and Ariana Washington honored on the women’s side.
Pac-12 Athlete of the Week: (4/19) Devon Allen and Hannah Cunliffe were named Pac-12 Track Athletes of the Week on April 19. Allen won four events at the Oregon Relays while running the fifth-fastest time in Oregon history in the 200 (20.68). Cunliffe was a member of the winning 4×100 team, won the 100 and finished second in the 200 at the Mt. SAC Relays. Cunliffe ran 10.99 in the 100 and 22.71 in the 200, both of which put her among the top four in Oregon history.
(3/22) Devon Allen, Annie Leblanc and Cody Danielson were each named Pac-12 Athletes of the week during the first week of the outdoor season. At the Willie Williams Classic, Allen picked up three wins (100/200/110 hurdles) while Leblanc won both the women’s 800 and 1,500. Danielson won the javelin with the No. 4 mark on the NCAA list.
Bowerman Watch: Jenna Prandini became the second-consecutive Oregon woman to win the Bowerman Trophy, following Laura Roesler in 2014. The USTFCCCA named Devon Allen and Edward Cheserek to the men’s watch list for 2016 and Raevyn Rogers on the women’s side.
NCAA Indoor Sweep: Oregon swept the 2016 NCAA Indoor Championships, marking the 27th and 28th championships by Oregon track and field and cross country teams. The team sweep has only happened four times in NCAA history, and now twice by the Ducks (2013/2016).

Read Full Article